Getting a DUI charge doesn’t just affect you; it causes a serious strain on your family. Many of the consequences of getting a DUI or DWI result in increased stress on your loved ones, which ultimately leads to a breakdown of marriage or other important family relationships. Additionally, the financial consequences of getting a DUI or DWI charge costs your family dearly. These are the most common family law issues when you get a DUI charge:
Driver’s License Revocation is a Serious Strain
Many types of DUI charges result in having your driver’s license revoked for anywhere from 90 days to 1 year – or more, in some cases. Having your driver’s license suspended or revoked is a serious strain on your family. Your spouse or significant other has to drive you everywhere, or you must make arrangements with friends and family to get rides to work or to run errands.
Additionally, if you have children, your spouse is left with the sole responsibility of transporting your child to and from school and after school activities. This can cause scheduling headaches, resentment from your significant other, stress on your family – and could ultimately cause you to lose your job if you’re not able to make it to work consistently.
Background Checks Cause Stress on Your Relationship
Once you have a DUI charge, background checks seriously compromise your housing and employment opportunities. When you rent or lease a house, for example, it’s common for landlords to conduct background checks, and they may not want to rent to you once they discover you have a DUI charge. Alternately, many employers conduct background checks when you start a new job or get promoted to a management position, and a DUI can seriously compromise your employment opportunities. All of these factors cause a serious strain on a relationship, and can ultimately cost you financially in missed employment opportunities or high rents.
Insurance Rate Hikes Cause Financial Conflict
When insurers find out you have a DUI or DWI charge, expect a serious rate increase. You’re much more of a liability for insurers once you’ve gotten a DUI charge, which translates to a much higher monthly premium for your family. As money is the single biggest cause of conflict in a relationship, dealing with increased insurance costs puts a serious strain on your family.
Emotional Fallout from DUI Charges
Finally, don’t underestimate the emotional fallout from getting a DUI charge. Your significant other or family members experience a wide range of emotions when you get a DWI, including: anger, resentment, and embarrassment. You may feel that your family is judging you, and you may experience your own emotional fallout, such as shame, resentment toward family members’ “prying,” or anger about limitations imposed by a DUI charge. This emotional trauma can poison your relationships, causing conflict with family members or even breakdown of your marriage.
A DUI or DWI charge has a serious impact on your family’s well-being. It’s extremely important to work with an experienced law firm to mitigate the consequences of a DUI charge, or to get the charge removed entirely, for the sake of your family. If you are looking for an experienced attorney in San Antonio, contact Wilson Brown PLLC.
On January 1, 2014, Colorado became the first state to legalize recreational marijuana use. Since Colorado voters passed the legalization measure in 2012, state lawmakers have been busy trying to ensure proper regulations are put into place to protect public safety while honoring the voters’ decision. Among taxes and business zoning issues, the state has had a particular focus on the new law’s effect on DUI (driving under the influence) charges. Driving under the influence of marijuana remains illegal in Colorado, but the Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) is concerned this has become muddled in the sudden sweeping changes brought by pot legalization. Specifically, CDOT and law enforcement officials are concerned that as marijuana use increases, so will DUIs linked to marijuana use. Given the concern that marijuana-related DUIs will increase, CDOT has launched an education campaign intended to spread awareness about driving under the influence.
The “Drive High, Get a DUI” campaign began March 10, 2014 as a way to educate the general public about marijuana DUIs. The TV ads have gained popularity both in Colorado and across the country. The intentionally humorous advertisements feature individuals doing normal, everyday activities while high. Grilling, playing sports, and installing a TV while high are all featured. The advertisements remind viewers that while it is now legal to do these tasks under the influence, it is still illegal to drive while high. Bob Ticer, the chairman of Colorado’s Interagency Task Force on Drunk Driving has said of the campaign, “Enforcement is very important when it comes to impaired driving, but education is equally important.” In addition to the TV airings, CDOT has released radio ads and other campaign materials to get the word out to a broader audience. CDOT has also partnered with the marijuana industry to educate users about the law and the effect of impaired driving. (more…)
Every state has various drunk driving charges relating to how impaired a driver is. One of the most common charges is a DWI (driving while intoxicated). Driving while intoxicated means that a driver has a blood alcohol content (“BAC”) level of at least 0.08%, which is the legal limit for in every state. The legal limit is the maximum level of alcohol impairment for a driver while operating a motor vehicle. Thus, when a driver has been charged with a DWI, there must be proof that they were, in fact, legally intoxicated when they drove. Recently, the law turned against one Texas man who was wrongfully charged with a DWI, even though he was sober at the time.
On January 1, 2013, Larry Davis was driving through Austin, Texas when he was pulled over. At first, Davis was told he was stopped for illegally running through an intersection. The situation quickly escalated, however, when officers asked Davis to step out of his car. According to police reports, the officers believed that Davis was drunk and began following DWI arrest procedures. After informing the officers he had only consumed one drink earlier that night, Davis was still forced to submit to multiple sobriety tests and chemical tests to reveal his BAC level.
Multiple sobriety tests are not uncommon, and are even standard procedure in most places. Police often rely upon chemical tests to determine if a driver is intoxicated, and then use sobriety tests as a way of establishing or “double-checking” a driver’s impairment. Breath tests, or breathalyzers, are one of the most relied upon methods to determine BAC. Therefore, it seems logical that if a breathalyzer test showed no impairment whatsoever, the driver would not be arrested for a DWI. (more…)
After two years of legal troubles, actress Amanda Bynes has reached a plea deal in her Los Angeles DUI case. The plea deal ensures that Bynes will not see any jail time, which was a potential penalty if she was convicted of the DUI charge. Bynes pled no contest to the DUI charge and was sentenced to three years probation. The judge also ordered that Bynes undergo alcohol education classes for three months. For the DUI charge to be fully dismissed, Bynes must also pay court fees and fines.
In April 2012 Bynes was allegedly driving under the influence of either drugs or alcohol, or a combination of both, when she struck a Los Angeles County Sheriff’s cruiser. According to police reports, Bynes struck the police cruiser with her BMW around 3:00 a.m. on April 4, 2012 and was immediately arrested. The actress quickly posted the $5,000 bail and was formally charged with DUI in June of 2012.
Since being formally charged, Bynes had vehemently denied driving under the influence. The penalty for a first time DUI conviction in California can result in multiple criminal penalties, including a driver’s license suspension, up to six (6) months in jail, fines, requirement to attend alcohol education programs, and a requirement to install an ignition interlock device. After trying to fight the DUI charge for nearly two years, Bynes and her legal team pled no contest, specifically to avoid jail time. (more…)
Just a few weeks into 2014, more bizarre drunk driving news stories have been reported. One such story comes from the capital of Mexico, Mexico City. A Mexico City man was arrested in early January for drunk driving after his pet parrot tattled on him during a traffic stop. Mexico City police officers stopped Guillermo Reyes at a routine alcohol checkpoint. When the officers approached Reyes, they overheard what they thought was a passenger repeating the phrase “he’s drunk.” The officers were partially right; the “passenger” was Reyes’ parrot, who kept repeating the condemning phrase. Though the parrot was obviously willing to turn on Reyes, the officers followed procedure and administered field sobriety tests. Reyes subsequently failed these tests, and was arrested for drunk driving. Given the parrot’s betrayal, one may think Reyes would no longer be interested in keeping his pet; however, Reyes did not hold the bird’s words against him. Reports show that the bird was allowed to accompany Reyes to jail for fear that the parrot would become overly anxious during a separation.
The next bizarre drunk driving report comes out of West Virginia. West Virginia was one of many states plagued by severe winter storms in January, and when the West Virginia Department of Transportation sent out its snow plows, the drivers should have been ready to roll. One driver, however, was unable to complete his plowing after being arrested for driving under the influence. Thomas Keith Henderson was driving the West Virginia DOT snow plow in Keystone, when a passing officer noticed a missing headlight. After pulling Henderson over, Deputy R. L. Jones noticed some tell-tale signs of alcohol consumption, including an alcohol odor and Henderson’s bloodshot eyes. Deputy Jones administered a breathalyzer test, which revealed that Henderson’s blood alcohol content (BAC) level was 0.09%. Not only was Henderson’s BAC over the base legal limit, it was double the limit for commercial drivers. In West Virginia, like in many states, non-commercial drivers can be charged with drunk driving if their BAC is at 0.08% or more. In many states, commercial drivers like Henderson can be charged for operating a commercial vehicle with a much lower BAC. West Virginia’s legal limit for commercial drivers is 0.04%. Following the arrest, Henderson was charged with a DUI. (more…)
A California family lawyer has been sentenced to two (2) years in Federal prison for illegal eavesdropping, tax evasion, and her role in the Contra Costa County “Dirty DUI” scandal. Mary Nolan, 62 was charged with illegally wiretapping cars belonging to her client’s spouses and using the information she acquired against the spouses in divorce court. Nolan pled guilty to these charges and was sentenced by a Federal judge in San Francisco on February 3, 2014. In addition to the two-year prison sentence, Nolan has been ordered to pay $469,000 in back taxes. She has already relinquished her license to practice law.
As part of her plea deal, Nolan pled guilty to one (1) specific act of wiretapping her client’s husband. According to court documents, Nolan hired a private investigator to wiretap the husband’s car and to trap the man in a DUI arrest. Nolan’s scam began with her private investigator, Christopher Butler, wiretapping vehicles. Butler installed illegal listening devices in the victim’s car. Then Butler’s female employees would entice the men into drinking with them and later driving away to meet at another location. Through the wiretap device, Butler would know when the men entered their vehicles while impaired, and Butler would then alert local police. The police would arrest and charge the husbands for DUIs that would in turn be used against them by Nolan in family court proceedings.
Butler also pled guilty for his part in the so-called “Dirty DUI” scandal, and is scheduled to testify against other defendants.
Former Contra Costa County Deputy Stephen Tanabe was also recently found guilty for his role in the scandal. Tanabe would wait outside the bars where the victim husbands were drinking with Butler’s employees. Once the men got into their vehicles, it was Tanabe who was waiting to arrest the men. For his role in booking these men for DUIs, Tanabe was given a pistol by Butler. Tanabe was also charged with accepting cocaine as payment for his role in the scheme but a jury acquitted him of that charge. Tanabe has yet to be sentenced for his conviction. (more…)
With the most lax marijuana laws in the nation, Colorado has been making headlines for some time now. Starting January 1, 2014 Colorado residents can legally purchase marijuana for recreational purposes. Until the law change, Colorado had only allowed residents to use the drug for medicinal purposes. Now, dispensaries can legally sell to anyone over the age of 21. With a great deal of regulation and certainly some skepticism, the legal weed market in Colorado appears to be booming. The first week of 2014 saw dispensaries and shops making approximately $5 million in sales. State officials expect to make roughly $70 million in tax revenue based on the 25% tax rate applied to all sales.
While the financial consequences certainly appear to benefit Colorado’s treasury and dispensary owners, what are the legal ramifications for high residents? First and foremost, only those over the age of 21 can buy the drug, and can only use it on private property. Even with those restrictions, some recreational users will find themselves on the wrong side of law if they smoke or ingest marijuana and drive. Due to the change in the drug law, the state legislature saw the need to revise DUI laws to account for the potential uptick of drivers under the influence of marijuana. (more…)
David Cassidy, of The Partridge Family fame, was arrested again for drunk driving on January 11th, 2014. The former star was reportedly travelling to the Los Angeles Airport when he was stopped by officers who noticed his erratic driving. An in-field blood alcohol leave breath test was administered by the arresting officer, and detected Cassidy’s BAC at 0.19 percent. The legal limit is 0.08 percent. Cassidy has now been charged with a DWI (driving while intoxicated), a charge that can carry hefty fines and even imprisonment if a conviction is made.
This is not the first time Cassidy has been charged with driving under the influence. Infamously, in August 2013 he was charged with a DWI in New York, after being pulled over for failing to dim his vehicle’s lights at a Schodack police checkpoint. During that incident, Cassidy’s in-field breath test revealed a BAC level of 0.10 percent, over the New York state legal limit. The New York charge was not even Cassidy’s first offense; in 2010 he was arrested for drunk driving in Florida. Because he was a first time offender following his Florida charge, Cassidy did not receive jail time, instead being sentenced to mandatory community service, a $500 fine, a six-month license suspension, and a one-year probation.
Cassidy is not the only celebrity fighting recent drunk driving charges. Dina Lohan, mother to another former child star Lindsay Lohan, was charged with a DWI in September 2013 following an arrest in Hempstead, NY. Lohan reportedly was driving with a BAC of 0.20 percent, more than double New York’s legal limit. Though Lohan was only ordered to complete community service and undergo a psychiatric evaluation, the penalty could have been much more severe. (more…)
The Village of Monticello is in the news again, with recent updates to Mayor Gordon Jenkins’s DWI case. On November 16th, 2013, Jenkins was pulled over and arrested for driving while intoxicated. Jenkins has since pled not guilty to the charges, but the situation has become quite a scandal in Monticello. According to the arresting officers, Jenkins was pulled over in the evening of November 16th, but refused to submit to an in-field breathalyzer test. According to the officers and police reports, Jenkins’s behavior indicated that he was intoxicated, and was subsequently arrested after refusing the breathalyzer. After his arrest, Jenkins was taken to Catskill Regional Medical Center for a blood test to show his blood alcohol content (BAC) level. Reports indicate that his BAC was nearly twice the legal limit at 0.13 percent.
The State of New York defines a DWI, driving while intoxicated, based on your blood alcohol content. You will be charged with a DWI if you operate a motor vehicle and your BAC is:
The penalty for driving while intoxicated can vary based on your age, whether you were intoxicated by drugs or by alcohol (or both), whether you submitted to a breathalyzer or other BAC test, and what type of license you have. Regardless of age, your first DWI will result in your license being suspended and a hefty fine. Each subsequent DWI will cause your license to be suspended or revoked for a longer period of time, an increase in fines, and potentially jail time. In New York, refusing a breathalyzer test once you have been pulled over leads to an automatic suspension of your license for one year, and a fine of $500.
Due to his refusal to submit to a breathalyzer, Jenkins has now lost his driver’s license for one year. Jenkins claimed that the police officers violated his constitutional rights by failing to respect his right to speak with an attorney. However, a judge found that his license would be suspended for the mandatory period and a fine would be charged. That judge did not make a ruling regarding Jenkins’s allegation of not being allowed to talk to his lawyer. (more…)
If you have been charged with DUI once, you must be aware of the consequences a DUI conviction can lead to. A first time DUI offense in Arizona is a serious one and if you end up facing a second DUI charge, you can be in a lot of trouble. A repeat or second DUI/DWI charge in Arizona leads to even more serious fines, increased jail time and penalties and also has a serious impact on your personal and professional life.
The allegation of a repeat DUI arrest should not be taken lightly. You should get in touch with a skilled DUI lawyer in Arizona who will examine your arrest details and come up with a strategy to fight the charge. An experienced lawyer will review the strength of the prosecution’s case against you and will advise you on the merits of fighting the case to beat your second AZ DUI case. Defense attorneys are familiar with numerous defense and mitigation strategies which help them assist their clients in defending a second DUI arrest charge in Arizona.
Discussing your case carefully with an attorney is the first step in defending the repeat DUI charge. You must have the arrest details with you when you discuss your case with an attorney so you know what your options will be. Just like in the case of fighting a first-time DUI/DWI case, defense attorneys use specific defenses to help defendants accused of a second DUI charge. In a 2nd DUI offense, it is critical that you know your legal strategies based on your own arrest circumstances. Your lawyer will be able to find flaws in the case against you based on these circumstances.
First of all, your lawyer will check if there are any errors in your 2nd DUI ticket. You should also tell the attorney if you were asked to keep blowing in the breathalyzer repeatedly by the arresting officer. Your lawyer will also check your breathalyzer results and see if the test results can be challenged with calibration errors. Other factors such as poor weather conditions and officer behavior at the time of arrest can also be used by your attorney to find loopholes when defending your case. Your lawyer will also ask you if you felt you were pulled over for no reason or if you were read your Mirada Rights at the time of arrest or not.
Challenging all the technicalities and finding loopholes in the second DUI arrest will increase your chances of the case being completely dismissed in court. Looking at all the critical elements in detail will help the lawyer find loopholes in your case and beat your 2nd DUI charge in court. Your lawyer will also check if there is a possibility of a plea bargain as this is your 2nd DUI and he or she will strive hard to avoid any negative outcome so that you have a chance at driving again and moving forward in your life. Be involved with your lawyer at every aspect of the case to beat your 2nd DUI charge in Arizona.
This is an informational, guest article, brought to you by the AZ Criminal Law Team.