A person charged with Aggravated DWI is alleged to have operated a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .18 or more – over double that which is otherwise considered the limit. Even on a first offense, typical sentences for someone convicted of Aggravated DWI include the installation an ignition interlock device, a 1 year license revocation, a fine between $1,000 and $2,500, a court mandated surcharge, a 3 year term of probation, and/or up to a year in jail.
Many District Attorneys’ Offices across New York State have plea bargaining policies which prohibit the reduction of any or most Aggravated DWI charges. Because of these policies, it is important to have counsel who is well versed in topics commonly litigated in DWI cases such as the traffic stop that resulted in the DWI charge, the proper or improper administration of field sobriety tests, chemical blood and breathe tests, etc…
Experienced counsels who are trained in these matters are able to identify potential “problems” that may exist in a case. This knowledge is vital when negotiating with prosecutors who are reluctant to diverge from established reduction policies or, if necessary, effectively represent clients at trials.
If you have been charged with an Aggravated DWI in New York State, contact us for a FREE case consultation.