Deputies in Erie County have been busy this year. Last weekend, Sheriff’s Road Patrols marked their 120th arrest based on violations of DWI laws since the start of 2013. WIVB.com reports that the 120th arrest occurred on Saturday, May 4th. That night, Erie County Sheriff’s deputies observed a vehicle driving erratically on Broadway Avenue. They also observed that the driver was not wearing his seatbelt.
Deputies pulled the 33-year-old driver of the vehicle over and allegedly found that he was in possession of cocaine. He is alleged to have had approximately two grams of cocaine in the vehicle and admitted to snorting cocaine while he was driving. The Buffalo man was also accused of driving with a license that had three suspensions in effect. Deputies administered a blood alcohol test which determined that the driver’s BAC was .18%. Deputies then arrested the driver and he was charged with aggravated DWI, criminal possession of a controlled substance, aggravated unlicensed operation and traffic violations.
Another Buffalo man met his fate with DWI charges over the same weekend. According to The Buffalo News, the man was arrested after troopers allegedly observed his vehicle drive off of a street and onto a curb. The incident occurred on Genesee Street in Cheektowaga in the early hours of Saturday morning. Law enforcement officers administered a BAC test and allege that the man had a BAC of .18%. The 55-year-old man was charged with aggravated DWI, marijuana possession and consumption of alcohol in a vehicle.
Aside from the common thread of having taken place in Erie County, these cases share the fact that both drivers were charged with aggravated DWI. It is important to note that under New York Vehicle and Traffic Laws, a driver can be charged with aggravated DWI if his or her BAC is .18% or higher. Aggravated DWI charges can carry a penalty of up to $2,500, one year in jail and an 18 month license revocation. It can be a misdemeanor conviction, which will result in a criminal record. In addition to the .18% and higher BAC factor, there are other factors under the Vehicle and Traffic law that can lead to a charge of aggravated DWI. Sometimes an aggravated DWI charge is classified as a felony charge, and carries a higher penalty. For example, under Leandra’s Law, driving with a child under the age of 15 while intoxicated is an aggravated DWI charge that carries a felony conviction, up to four years in prison, a $5,000 fine, and a minimum license revocation of 18 months.
The attorneys at Nave DWI Defense Attorneys have years of experience in defending aggravated DWI charges in New York. If you have been charged with violating DWI laws, you should immediately seek out the assistance of an experienced attorney. An experienced attorney can help you navigate the legal system, can work with the prosecutor to negotiate a plea bargain, and can represent you in court. Call the experienced attorneys at Nave DWI Defense Attorneys at 1-866-792-7800 for a free and confidential consultation today.
The exclusive purpose of this article is educational and it is not intended as either legal advice or a general solution to any specific legal problem. Corporate offices for Nave DWI Defense Attorneys are located at 432 N. Franklin Street, Suite 80, Syracuse, NY 13204; Telephone No.: 1-866-792-7800. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. Attorney Advertising.