According to the Kentucky Enquirer, a local news reporting media, a Pentecostal minister is being held on $750,000 bail after being accused in a drunk driving crash that killed a Northern Kentucky prosecutor.
The offender, a forty-year-old of Butler, faces up to twenty years to life in prison if he is found guilty in the death of a man involving driving under the influence for the accident that occurred on June 8th.
The victim had served and offered public defense services for Harrison, Nicholas, Pendleton and Robertson counties for three years. He was also married with two children.
According to authorities, the offender, an independent truck driver and pastor of Uptown Church in Over-the-Rhine, was operating his large vehicle and heading south on U.S. 27 near Butler when he weaved over the center line into the opposite lane and crashed head-on into the victim’s Buick Riviera.
The offender was being held at Hamilton County Justice Center and had decided to not oppose being exiled from Kentucky. He also is charged with driving under the influence. Reports have not yet revealed the offender’s blood alcohol level.
In Kentucky, causing the death of another person while operating a motor vehicle is considered an aggravated factor. Under Kentucky law:
“If any of the aggravating circumstances listed in
subsection (11) of this section are present while the person was operating or in
physical control of a motor vehicle, the mandatory minimum term of
imprisonment shall be four (4) days, which term shall not be suspended,
probated, conditionally discharged, or subject to any other form of early
The consequences are even more severe for the second offense:
“For the second offense within a five (5) year period, be fined not less than
three hundred fifty dollars ($350) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500)
and shall be imprisoned in the county jail for not less than seven (7) days nor
more than six (6) months and, in addition to fine and imprisonment, may be
sentenced to community labor for not less than ten (10) days nor more than six
(6) months. If any of the aggravating circumstances listed in subsection (11)
of this section are present, the mandatory minimum term of imprisonment
shall be fourteen (14) days, which term shall not be suspended, probated,
conditionally discharged, or subject to any other form of early release.”