If you or someone you know has been charged with driving while intoxicated, you need to call the experienced DWI attorneys at Nave DWI Defense Attorneys. Our attorneys have successfully defended against countless New York drivers against DWI charges, driving while impaired charges, and numerous other alcohol-related driving offenses.
DWIs are criminal charges, and there is a lot at stake. Trying to handle your DWI case on your own is risky. Instead, call the premiere New York DWI law firm. At Nave DWI Defense Attorneys, our attorneys have dedicated their careers to defending drivers in court. We are passionate about protecting your rights and ensuring the best possible results in court. Contact us today for a free case evaluation.
New York has several variations of the basic DWI charge. DWI, or driving while intoxicated, is a criminal charge that can be brought against any driver found to be operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.08% or more. This is called a “per se” DWI charge. Some related DWI charges include driving while ability impaired (driving with a BAC between 0.05% and 0.07%) and aggravated DWI (driving with a BAC of 0.18% or more).
New York is one of the most populated states in America. Compared to some of the other more populated states such as Florida, New York has relatively low DWI statistics. According to the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services, in 2011 there were 45,757 adult DWI arrests in New York. In 2012, that number dropped to 43,899 DWI arrests.
It can be difficult to estimate what the DWI arrest statistics for 2013 will reveal. According to the Division of Criminal Justice Services, the number of adult DWI arrests throughout New York has been steadily dropping for several years. Lawmakers are hoping that new proposed laws, such as Governor Cuomo’s proposed “three strikes” DWI law, and changes to existing laws like Leandra’s Law will continue to decrease the number of DWI arrests.
Despite the fact that DWI statistics are dropping, the penalties for DWI charges remain tough. For example, a first time “per se” DWI offense is a misdemeanor offense punishable by up to 1 year in jail, a maximum fine of $1000, minimum 6-month license revocation, and mandatory installation and maintenance of an Ignition Interlock Device for up to 1 year. A first time conviction for an aggravated DWI can lead to stiff penalties, including the required installation of an ignition interlock device for a longer period of time, a minimum 1-year license revocation, a fine between $1,000 and $2,500, a court mandated surcharge, 3 years of probation, and up to 1 year in jail.
With your license, your money, and your freedom potentially at stake, you need to hire an experienced DWI attorney if you have been charged. We take every case seriously, and offer personalized legal help to every client. With your needs and goals in mind, we will provide the best defense to your DWI charged. Nave DWI Defense Attorneys strives to protect your rights and ensure the best possible legal outcome. Call us today at 1-866-792-7800 for a free case evaluation.
DISCLAIMER: The exclusive purpose of this article is educational and it is not intended as either legal advice or a general solution to any specific legal problem. Corporate offices for Nave DWI Defense Attorneys are located at 432 N. Franklin Street, Suite 80, Syracuse, NY 13204; Telephone No.: 1-866-792-7800. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. Attorney Advertising.