A Brooklyn police officer has been charged with DWI after drunkenly shooting his partner. The detective and his partner, Detective Matthew Sullivan, had been investigating a reported robbery in Queens before stopping at a bar for a few rounds early on the morning of April 24th. Allegedly, the first detective had a few too many and when both men exited the bar, he took the driver’s seat in their unmarked police car.
What happened next certainly shocked both detectives, and eventually led to one detective’s arrest. According to prosecutors, the first detective was showing off a revolver to Sullivan in the car. During this exchange, the gun fired and a bullet struck Sullivan’s right wrist. The shooter immediately drove Sullivan to Jamaica Hospital Medical Center, instead of calling in an ambulance. Upon their arrival, Sullivan was rushed into emergency surgery, and reportedly survived in good condition.
Another officer responding to the incident observed the shooter, a 30-year veteran of the NYPD, at the hospital. That officer saw the detective exhibit some signs of intoxication, including blood-shot eyes. He was given a breath test on the spot, which revealed his blood alcohol content (BAC) level to be 0.113%. The detective was asked to submit to a follow-up breath test by NYPD’s Internal Affairs Bureau, but refused. Following his refusal, the shooter was promptly arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated. His license was also revoked for refusing the second breath test. The detective was released on his own recognizance, but has been suspended from the force without pay. His DWI is ongoing and the NYPD is investigating the entire incident. No charges have been filed against him for shooting Sullivan.
The shooter’s reported BAC at the time of his arrest was nearly twice the legal limit in New York, which is 0.08%. This legal limit, based on a person’s BAC level, is the standard for intoxication. That is, a person with a BAC of 0.08% or more is legally considered intoxicated. Driving while intoxicated, even during an emergency, is a criminal charge in New York that can lead to serious consequences. For first time offenders, a conviction on a DWI charge can lead to any of the following:
- Up to 1 year in jail
- Maximum fine of $1,000 and a surcharge of $400
- A 6-month license revocation
- Requirement to install/maintain ignition interlock device for 1 year
These steep penalties increase with future DWI convictions. DWI convictions affect not only your license, you wallet, and your freedom, but also your future. A conviction for this charge can affect your future employment and educational opportunities.
If you or someone you know has been charged with a DWI or related charge, call the experienced attorneys at Nave DWI Defense Attorneys today. Our firm is DWI-focused, and we use that focus to your advantage. Unlike more general practice attorneys, Nave DWI Defense Attorneys attorneys have years of experience handling DWI cases solely. Our New York DWI lawyers aggressively defend every client because we understand what is on the line. For more information and a free case evaluation, contact us today online or at 1-866-792-7800.
DISCLAIMER: The exclusive purpose of this article is educational and it is not intended as either legal advice or a general solution to any specific legal problem. Corporate offices for Nave DWI Defense Attorneys are located at 432 N. Franklin Street, Suite 80, Syracuse, NY 13204; Telephone No.: 1-866-792-7800. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. Attorney Advertising.