The New York state Senate has cracked down on drunk driving this Legislative Session. News 12 The Bronx reports that two bills in particular would seek to prevent DWI law violators from operating vehicles on New York roads. One bill would keep drunk drivers off of the road from a licensing standpoint. That is, if the bill passes into law, drivers with three or more DWI convictions would face permanent license revocation. The second bill would attack the drunk driving problem through an expedited penalty and ignition interlock timeline. The legislation would require serial DWI convicts to pay all of their files and install ignition interlock devices in their vehicles before regaining their driving privileges. The bills are anticipated to be up for vote before the summer, but their fate is uncertain in the New York State Assembly.
The Long Island Exchange reports that a third bill relating to DWI offenders was just passed by the New York State Senate on Thursday, May 22. The bill attacks drunk driving from a third standpoint, mandatory jail sentencing. Under the Bill, S750, DWI convicts with two DWI crimes on their records within a ten year period would face a mandatory minimum sentence of 30 days in jail. In addition, those drivers would be eligible for an additional sentence of four years in jail and a fine between $1,000 and $5,000. The crime would be classified as a Class E felony. Those drivers with three more DWI convictions within a ten year period would receive a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 90 days, an addition sentence of up to seven years in jail, and a fine between $2,000 and $10,000. The crime on the driver’s record would be a Class D Felony.
The mandatory minimum sentencing established by the legislation would also predictably impact aggravated DWI charges. Drivers convicted of two aggravated DWI charges would face a mandatory minimum sentence of 180 days, a fine between $1,000 and $5,000, a Class E felony and additional jail time of up to four years. Finally, drunk drivers with three or more DWI convictions within a ten year period would face a mandatory minimum sentence of 1 year in addition to a Class D felony record, up to an additional seven years in a jail, and a fine between $2,000 and $10,000. It is important to note that while the legislation has passed in the Senate, it’s ultimate passage into law is still uncertain.
The attorneys at Nave DWI Defense Attorneys have experience defending drivers facing jail time on DWI charges. For example, in the case of People vs. W.C., an Nave DWI Defense Attorneys client was facing up to four years in jail because he had a prior DWI conviction within a ten year period. Nave DWI Defense Attorneys attorneys were able to secure dismissal of the case because the prosecutor did not produce any witnesses, including the arresting officer.
If you have been charged with a DWI, you may face jail time under the current law. Your best line of defense is to immediately contact an experienced DWI attorney. The attorneys at Nave DWI Defense Attorneys have a proven track record of successfully defending against DWI charges. Call the attorneys at Nave DWI Defense Attorneys today for a confidential consultation.
The exclusive purpose of this article is educational and it is not intended as either legal advice or a general solution to any specific legal problem. Corporate offices for Nave DWI Defense Attorneys are located at 432 N. Franklin Street, Suite 80, Syracuse, NY 13204; Telephone No.: 1-866-792-7800. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. Attorney Advertising.