The Deputy Mayor of Rochester has been charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) following an incident on March 19. Police stopped Deputy Mayor Leonard Redon late on March 19 for speeding. The stop escalated into an arrest after officers noticed signs of intoxication. Redon was subsequently arrested for DWI, speeding and driving with an expired driver’s license. New York State police have stated that Redon’s blood alcohol content (BAC) level was 0.13% at the time of his arrest. The legal BAC limit in New York is 0.08%.
This arrest has raised questions about whether Redon will remain Rochester’s Deputy Mayor. According to reports, Redon contacted Mayor Lovely Warren shortly after his arrest to offer his resignation. After speaking with Redon, Mayor Warren decided against accepting the resignation, instead allowing Redon to take time off from his duties. According to a statement from the City of Rochester, Redon to Mayor Warren disclosed that he was diagnosed with diabetes and his medical condition may have had a negative impact on his judgment. Regarding the charges, Mayor Warren stated, “While I am very disappointed in this turn of events and the deputy mayor’s lapse in judgment, I have accepted his apology…I know [Redon] is sincerely regretful for the embarrassment he has caused for the city, for me and for himself and will take steps to assure that it never happens again.” Redon is due in court on April 8 to answer the DWI and other charges.
What does driving while intoxicated mean? In New York, as in every state, there is a legal limit of the amount of alcohol a driver can have in their system (measured by their BAC). This limit is 0.08%. With that level of BAC, a driver is legally considered intoxicated and therefore cannot legally drive. If a driver is found to have a BAC of 0.08% or more, they will be charged with a DWI. A driver’s BAC can be determined a variety of ways, the most common being a breath test referred to as a breathalyzer. Other tests include urinalysis and blood tests. Arresting officers can also administer so-called “field sobriety tests” to check a driver’s coordination and balance, which can serve as evidence that a motorist is intoxicated.
Though there are multiple variations of a DWI charge (including Aggravated DWI and Felony DWI), the first time basic DWI offense is a misdemeanor criminal charge. A first time conviction includes serious consequences including: up to 1 year in jail; a maximum fine of $1,000 and a surcharge of $400; a minimum 6-month license revocation; and the requirement to install and maintain an ignition interlock device for up to 1 year. Because of the potential for serious consequences, it is important for anyone charged with DWI to hire an experienced DWI attorney.
If you or someone you know has been charged with a DWI or related charge, contact the experienced New York DWI lawyers at Nave DWI Defense Attorneys. Our attorneys will aggressively defend you and protect your rights. Contact us today for a free case evaluation.
DISCLAIMER: The exclusive purpose of this article is educational and it is not intended as either legal advice or a general solution to any specific legal problem. Corporate offices for Nave DWI Defense Attorneys are located at 432 N. Franklin Street, Suite 80, Syracuse, NY 13204; Telephone No.: 1-866-792-7800. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. Attorney Advertising.